Commonly Asked Questions
(Click question to view answer)
I am under 18. Can I get pierced?
Yes, but there is a process that is necessary to get pierced. According to Florida State law all minors being pierced must get a form notarized. That form can be found under the form section of our website. You must print this form or pick one up at either Z-Edge location and bring to a Notary Public to have it notarized. You can get papers notarized for free at your personal bank during bank business hours. If you don't have a local bank or it is not open there are check cashing facilities called Amscot around Sarasota that will notarize your form for a $10 fee. Once you have your form notarized we highly recommend you make an appointment at the Z-Edge location of your choice to ensure the piercer is available and can perform your procedure. You will need to bring the form as well as the parent that is on the form with you at the time of the procedure. There will be other paperwork for you to fill out and we will need to make a copy of your parents ID to keep in our records to show the health department and prove the parent was there at the time of the procedure. This is Florida law and standard procedure and there is ABSOLUTELY no way around it. We will not risk our licenses because you don't want to take the proper steps!
I am under 18. Can I get tattooed?
Yes, but you must be able to prove you are 16 years old and have all the proper paperwork. Similar to Florida State law for piercing a minor, Florida law for tattooing a minor requires you to get a form notarized. That form can be found under the forms section of our website or can be picked up at either Z-Edge location. The notarized form for tattooing a minor is a different form than for a piercing so make sure you get the correct one. Either pick up or print the form and bring it to a Notary Public to have it notarized. You can get papers notarized for free at your personal bank during bank business hours. If you don't have a local bank or it is not open there are check cashing facilities called Amscot around Sarasota that will notarize your form for a $10 fee. YOU MUST BE 16 YEARS OLD AND BE ABLE TO PROVE IT. We will need a State ID, Driving Permit, or Drivers license for the minor as well as the parent at the time of the procedure as well as the notarized form. The parent must be present at the time of the procedure and additional paperwork does have to be filled out before the procedure can be done. We have the right to refuse the tattoo based on the content or placement of it so be sure to speak with an artist about the piece before getting the paperwork notarized or making an appointment. Also, not all of our artists are comfortable tattooing minors. If they aren't comfortable tattoing a minor they will be able to recommend another of our artists that is comfortable working on minors. This is Florida law and standard procedure and there is ABSOLUTELY no way around it. We will not risk our licenses because you don't want to take the proper steps!
Why are the rules of getting my child pierced different than getting my child tattooed?
That is just the way that Florida law is written. Piercing laws have been around for over 10 years but Florida tattoo laws went into effect in January of 2013 so they were not made at the same time and were made by different people. There is no minimum age on body piercing in the state of Florida, this doesn't mean we will do any piercing on any age so please call or stop by the shop to find out what age we are willing to do the piercing you would like. We are not allowed to do any tattoo on anyone under the age of 16, there is no exceptions to this rule as it is law. If you are unsure of the procedure it is always best to come in or call to find out if we will do it before begining the process of paperwork.
Why can't you price my tattoo over the phone?
We are not able to see exactly what you want over the phone. Tattoos are priced by the time it takes us to do the procedure not by the size of the area of skin being tattooed. Some images are more detailed than others and take longer even though they are the same size as something that might be done in half of the time. Also, your idea of small might be completely different than our idea of small and the location of the body that the tattoo is being put on makes a difference to the amount of time the procedure will take. It is always best to stop by the shop to get an estimate and/or schedule an appointment to get your tattoo done.
Why can't I schedule my tattoo appointment over the phone?
We require a deposit to schedule an appointment so our artists aren't turning away other clients for a no show. Time is money and unfortunately most people that call to schedule an appointment over the phone without a deposit do not show up at the time they schduled. If you are very serious about your tattoo and are unable to come in to schedule an appointment we can take a deposit over the phone with your credit card. Deposits are non-refundable, when you give us a deposit you have promised to come in at a certain time to have your procedure done and our aritst has turned away other clients for you and usually spent time drawing your piece for you. If you chose to just not show up for your appointment our artists have invested time and money and deserve to be compensated for it. If you don't cancel your appointment and just don't show, we will require you make a new deposit before scheduling a new appointment. If you call ahead atleast 24 hours ahead of time to let us know you cant make it we will transfer the original deposit to your new appointment time and date.
How much does a tattoo cost?
Our minimum is $50 and we run at about $100 per hour. If it is a smaller piece we will quote you by the piece. Large scale work is typically done at the hourly rate. A minimum size tattoo is very small as is must take the artist 30 minutes or less. Typically you will not be able to get anything done larger than a quarter at the minimum price. The part of the body that the tattoo is going on does affect price as some spots are harder to tattoo than others so not all parts of the body can even be tattooed at the minimum price. Our minimum only covers the cost of the set up so we are not able to break minimum under any circumstances. If you would like something that is so small it is not worth $50 we recommend you have it done when you are already getting another piece as most artists will just add on a small amount to do it, since the set up is already open.